The Owl & The Pussycat

The Owl & The Pussycat Micropub – West London

London’s first micro brew pub, that’s right they brew their own beers on site & grown their own hops! For now the hops only cover a few brews a year, but still that’s pretty awesome.

They have 2x 5 firkin fermenter which allows them to brew about twice a week. Due to their popularity though they have an additional guest beer in whilst I was there, not complaining as it was great! Anyway they do intend to be self sufficient at some point in the new year which will be great.

Anyway when I visited they had 4 on cask:

  • Chin Chin Chinook, a late hopped IPA @ 5%
  • Amber Ale @ 4.8%
  • Cole Porter @ 5.2%
  • Roasted Nuts by Rebellion Beer Co @ 4.6%

They also had a wheat beer on keg which was immense, probably the best wheat beer I’ve ever had actually. Another thing is that they store their kegs in a modified chest freezer (kegerator style), which is quite cool.

IMG_20161220_171053.jpg

Decor wise they have very much left it as it was in it’s previous life as a bookshop, even down to the name! The furniture is a bit of a mishmash but it all adds to the charm of the place. Rough and ready.

I also met one of the proprietors (Paul), who was a lovely chap & very honest about his beers and happy to chat. He suggested I try the Chin Chin Chinook but tells me I’ll either get TCP or orange (he gets TCP and the brewer, Mark, gets orange)…unfortunately I got TCP but a few of the other customers got orange. Nice to find that kind of honesty.

The Owl & The Pussycat

